Deepak Chopra’s 7 Spiritual Laws of Yoga Challenge: Day 7

Deepak Chopra’s 7 Spiritual Laws of Yoga Challenge: Day 7

Deepak Chopra’s 7 Spiritual Laws of Yoga Challenge: Day 7

Spiritual Law 7: The Law of Detachment

The Law of Dharma says that everyone has a dharma, or purpose in life. By expressing our unique talents and using them to serve others, we will experience unlimited love, abundance, and true fulfillment in our lives.

The Pose: Eye of the Needle Pose

The Law of Dharma is about celebrating our own unique gifts and talents, and the only way we can truly do this is by connecting inward, Platt-Finger says. Eye of the Needle Pose offers us the opportunity to be still, silent, and introspective while reflecting on the part of ourselves that is the witness. Our dharma is about our life’s purpose, and how we can use that to elevate and enhance others. When we are too fixated on comparing ourselves to others, we lose connection to our dharma. In this posture, connect to your own body, your own breath, and your own awareness. Notice if you feel compelled to compare yourself to others, and keep the recognition alive that we are all unique. When we celebrate our authenticity in our yoga practice, we are opening the pathway for our dharma to reveal itself.


From a reclined position, bend both knees and cross the right ankle on top of the left thigh. Interlace the fingers behind the left thigh and draw the left knee toward you. Flex the right foot to engage the muscles around the knee joint. Relax the shoulders, the jaw, and the face. Close your eyes and breathe slowly in and out, directing the awareness to where you feel sensation in your body. Stay here for about 10–12 breaths before switching sides.

Enhance the pose:

Add brahmari (buzzing bee breath). As you hold the posture, breathe in through the nostrils and exhale, making an “Mmmm” sound like a buzzing bee. Bring your awareness just in between the eyebrows and slightly above to stimulate the third eye point, ajna chakra. Notice how the vibrations stimulate the face, enlivening the upper chakras. When we move into the upper chakras, we are moving beyond the regions of survival, likes and dislikes, and ego. The qualities of love, connection, truth, and self-realization are what empower us to connect to our true life’s purpose.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column]