A Deeper Look at the Granthis Through the Lens of the Koshas: a Three-Part Workshop with Katrina Repka

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
19 Jun

A Deeper Look at the Granthis Through the Lens of the Koshas: a Three-Part Workshop with Katrina Repka

June 19, 2021 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Workshop 3: Rudra Granthi, June 19, 1 – 3 pm – REGISTER HERE

A granthi – which literally means “knot”- develops in sushumna nadi from an accumulation of avidya (lack of knowledge), maya (believing that the world, which is illusory, is real), dukkha (“bad space” or “suffering”), and asmita (“Ego”).

There are three main granthis that are essential for holding shakti/prakriti in the physical vehicle of the body when moving through life, but when they are too tight they choke the flow of shakti moving up the spine to reunite with Shiva, and therefore limit our ability for transformation. Loosening the granthis enables shakti to move gracefully towards enlightenment.

In many depictions of the chakras there is a green snake coiled 3 ½ times at the base of the spine with its mouth pointing upwards. The 3 coils of kundalini represent the 3 main granthis (Brahma, Vishnu, Rudra). The ½ coil with the mouth of the snake pointing upwards represents the ability of shakti to move back to Shiva at the crown.

Over the course of three workshops we will explore the individual granthis through asana, pranayama, and meditation, and examine how they work through the koshic layers of our being. We will use practice to enquire and explore, releasing each granthi with the aim of moving ever deeper.

Rudra Granthi
The third granthi, Rudra Granthi (Rudra is another name for Shiva, Rudra being the quality of Shiva that detroys illusion), is located from throat to crown and encompasses Vishuddha, Ajna, and Sahasrara chakras. It doesn’t deal with the intelligence in this life, which is one quality of Shiva, but rather with the breaking down of patterns to free you. This is such a critical part of your being as to attain higher consciousness you need to be able to break down the patterns that cause you to hold staunch beliefs, and those things from the past that haunt and govern you. In this workshop we will work with the upper chakras and explore the release that happens as we move into the last stages of Samadhi – Savichara, Nirvichara, and Nirbija.

Register for workshop here.

$30 EB / $40. Special Pricing for ISHTA Members + Acharya, email to sign up.